Selcuk University Engineering & Architecture Faculty was found in the name of Konya State Engineering and Architecture Academy (KDMMA) in 1973. At that time, only mechanical engineering, civil engineering, surveying engineering and architecture departments were found under KDMMA. In 1982, Konya State Engineering and Architecture Academy (KDMMA) joined to Selcuk University with the name Engineering and Architecture Faculty.

Mechanical Engineering Department of Selcuk University Engineering Faculty  offers undergraduate (B.Sc. degree) and graduate education (M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees) in mechanical engineering.

The syllabus and curriculum Mechanical Engineering Department at undergraduate and graduate levels are annually UPDATEd taking into consideration the on-going developments in science and technology,  and the needs of the related parties. 

Mechanical Engineering Department undergraduate program is a four year eight semester program. Courses offered in the program can be classified in two groups: Courses that are obligatory for all engineering departments and the courses aimed at providing special information on mechanical engineering. The obligatory courses that aim to set up an engineering foundation include: basic sciences and mathematics courses, common engineering subjects and the courses of social sciences.Total credit of mathematics and  basic science courses (Physics, Chemistry, and Statistics) is 33 credit hours. Total credit hours for graduation is about 140. 

Approximately, 45% of the courses are conducted both in English and Turkish, remaining are conducted  in Turkish. 30% of the credits to be fulfilled for graduation must be collected from courses conducted in English.