Department Introduction
     Welcome to the Department of Economics (DoE). DoE was established within the Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences (FEAS) by offering its normal education program in 1987. DoE offered its evening education program in 1992. Students of DoE have been enrolling for a one-year intensive English language preparatory programme since 1998. 
     Academic structure of the department consists of four sub-departments: Economic Theory, Economic History, Economic Policy, and Economic Development and International Economics. As of 2014-2015 academic year, there are 12 faculty members involved in teaching and research (4 professors, 4 associate professors, and 4 assistant professors). There are also 10 research assistants as well as 2 specialist in the department. 
     In addition to the core economics courses (i.e., microeconomics, macroeconomics, international economics, history of economic thought, economic growth, and Turkish economy), DoE offers courses in other disciplines, including statistics, business administration, fiscal policy, finance, and law. The duration of Economics education in DoE is 5 years in total, including one-year intensive English language preparatory programme. 
     DoE also offers several graduate degree programs in collaboration with the Social Sciences Institute: Master’s Degree in Economics, Non-thesis Master’s Degree in Economics, Non-thesis Master’s Degree in Modern Monetary Economics and Banking,  and Ph.D. degree in Economics.